Unanswered: My ERD Attempt...pls dont laugh

Hi Guys,

Trying to start from scratch, its my first attempt so please can you give me some suggestions.

I havent put all the attributes as yest just put the keys.

So..Open season .. let me hear it...

Aboo
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails myattempt.jpg  

kind of difficult to critique an ERD if we don't know what it's supposed to be doing

one thing i noticed is that the materials, labour, and vehicle entities all have customerID as a foreign key

this is redundant since the order that they belong to is already related to the customer

also, what is "a labour"? can you point to a labour? how many labours will there be? how do you distinguish between 4 hours labour spent on Mr Smith's order and the 4 hours labour spent on Mr White's order?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Hi r937,

Thanks for your reply.

Labour is any labourers/staff/workers (agency workers)

With each order, I want to be able to:
    -book vehicles if required by the customer.
    -book any any labour(personell) if required by the Customer.
    - and book any materials if required by the customer.

As for the foreign key CustomerID, I used a little program called case Studio and it automatically put it in.

Quote Originally Posted by aboo
    I need some advice
    You should decide whether you want your post to remain in MS Access or whether it should be moved to db design, you shouldn't start 2 posts. A description of what the db does might also help.