Unanswered: Need Help Exporting from QMF

Hi everyone,

I am new to DB2, and I need help exporting query results to a txt file from QMF. I have been using a command, "Export report to filename" and then doing a KSUB command to export the file to our FTP site.

However, this method doesn't work for me because the export file will come out with garbage characters, and it will wrap data around to a 2nd line if I have too many export columns. This makes it impossible to bring the file into Excel for reporting.

I found out that there is another method to export called SPUFI. I can't find any documentation on this. Can anyone help me?

SPUFI (SQL processor using file input) is a way of submitting SQL via a TSO panel and having the results sent to a file. It is under the DB2I panel in DB2 under TSO. SPUFI uses a PDS member as an input file and you can specify the output file. However the output file is in the form of a report, and you will have to strip off the column headers, page break info, etc. Contact your DBA for assistance (If you are the DB2 z/OS you are in deep trouble).

A better way to do this is to use the DB2 for Windows Adminstrative client connected to your mainframe DB2 via a DCS connection (you will need a DB2 Connect license to do this). You connect to the remote DB2 z/OS database and then export the data on your PC to DEL format. You will need to work with your DBA to get you set up to do this.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Quote Originally Posted by Marcus_A
    A better way to do this is to use the DB2 for Windows Adminstrative client connected to your mainframe DB2 via a DCS connection (you will need a DB2 Connect license to do this). You connect to the remote DB2 z/OS database and then export the data on your PC to DEL format. You will need to work with your DBA to get you set up to do this.
    Two other possibilities, entirely on z/OS: