Unanswered: MySQL vs Filemaker Pro question ...

This is a cross posting from the MySQL forum and is also related to Filemaker Pro ...

Ok, I'm a relative newbie technical project manager, so if I say something silly, please don't kill me ...

I've got a new client who is a perfect 'pilot project' for me to develop SQL/PHP development skills while still being able to deliver a competently designed final product.

The business is a new Italian made wine-tasting machine that allows people to draw 1oz size "tastes" of up to 50 different wines for between $1-3/per taste. kind of like a very upscale soda fountain ...

I am designing the client's backend database for 1)creating his inventory management system 2) everything else that follows .. website, targeted marketing/mailing lists, point of sale integration etc etc ...

Here's the kicker ... the client would like to create the initial "rollout" app in FILEMAkER PRO!!! He's non-technical but can more or less grasp the GUI interface for filemaker pro ... He DOES understand that down the line as he develops his business, he'll need to migrate over to a LAMP or WAMP system, but is more than anything, concerend with initial startup costs during a weak economy ... and rightly so.

SO MY QUESTION ... is can anyone help me frame the argument for WHY and how quickly we should be looking to move AWAY from Filemaker and to a more robust, integrated CMS. Can anyone poin me to online resources that clarify why Filemaker is just not a really doable option ... ???

keep in mind, I am a relative newbie, and can actually give him what he wants (initially) in Filemaker in little over a weekend ... and this will be the first project in which i will serve as the technical lead ... so really in a way, its perfect for me to be able to create a prototype in filemaker that he'll be happy with and then port over to MySQL ... troubleshooting my first major project with a time buffer as opposed to under intense delivery pressure ...