Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    178

    Unanswered: Help Please.. How can one Sync 2 or more forms?

    Hi,

    Could any one tell me how i can sync 2 forms using records from 2 different tables. Using the PK in one as the FK in the other.

    I have frmOrder and frmOrderDetails. When i change the record number in the frmOrder (its PK is OrderID) i want the details in frmOrderDetails to change using OrderID as the FK.

    Please can someone help me.

    Thanks

    Aboo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    The is the classic scenario for using a form/subform to display a one-to-many relationship. The main form would have frmOrder as the record source and the subform's record source would be frmOrderDetails. Create your main form and a form to be used as the subform. Open up the main form in Design View, add a subform control, using the frmOrderDetails form as its source, then set the Child/Master fields (your PK and FK) in Properties for the subform control. You have to make sure the subform control is selected in order for these properties to show in the Properties Box. For detailed help enter "Create a subform" in Access Help.

    Once you do this, Access will do the rest. WHen you change orders in the main form, the details in the subform will change accordingly.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    178
    Hey Missinglinq,

    Since i have several forms i want to have in sync, the subforms would be too much on one page.

    Can i not have a "subform" type on another form?


    ~Aboo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Missinglinq is right, what you are asking for is a simple main/subform.

    I've never understood the need to sync multiple mainforms.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    178
    I want to see details of 3 other forms, it wouldnt be visibly deasable to have 3 subforms.

    Unless if its posible to have them in tabs?


    Aboo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Placing each subform on a tab is, again, pretty much the standard way to approach this problem.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    178
    Yep, Thanks guys.

    I created them on seperate tabs.

    Seems to be working.

    Ill be hitting you up with more issues soon though.

    Thanks


    Aboo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •