Unanswered: How to open a SSIS package stored on the Server

Hi,

I've migrate a DTS package to SSIS package, and store it on the Server. When I logon to Integration Services expand the Stored Package, MSDB, I can see the package but how do I open this package to make changes to it?

Thanks.

You will need to open the package from Visual Studio, or Business Intelligence Design Studio. You cannot edit SSIS packages directly in Management Studio.
    David Maxwell
    Data Integrity? Yeah, I've heard of that...

What used to be 2 steps is now 10 to edit a package, I'm outraged...

How do you execute the package? When you set up a job under SQL Server Agent will that see it some place? I can't figure out how that works. Integration Services doesn't seem to be set up at my site, but I was able to create and save an SSIS package on the server. Can I execute it now or is there a big piece missing that I don't have to do that?

Provided Answers: 1
    bhavdahl, I am not an expert at this but you indicate that "Integration Services doesn't seem to be set up at my site,..." and this might be a problem. For those who don't now SSIS stands for SQL Server Integration Services.

I would guess you used BIDS (Business Intelligence Development Studio) to develop the SSIS package. I am not sure if you need IS (Integration Services) installed or just BIDS to accomplish this (my guess is just BIDS).

The next step would be to send the Package you developed to IS on the server. Once it is on the Server, you can set up a job to run it (it will know where to find it on the server, I believe).

I don't think you can set up a job to run a package you have just developed in BIDS.

That is about the end of my (very) limited understanding of the process. I will leave it to the real experts to guide you better (and correct anything I might have misstated).