Thread: Db2 Optimizer

Unanswered: Db2 Optimizer

I am new to DB2. I want to use db2 optimizer to optimize the queries. Where can I install it from ? Can i access it from control center ?

DB2 Optimizer is part and parcel of DB2 .. It is installed when installing the software.
    The EXPLAIN facility explains what the optimizer will do with a query.

You can access the explain facility from the control centre or the command editor.

HTH

Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

DB2 Optimizer

Thanks for the reply. So if i want to optimize the queries, what tool should I use in DB2.
    Will db2 explain point to what improvements can be made to the query ?

The DB2 Explain will not tell you how to change a query to make it better. In most cases changing the query is not necessary unless the person who wrote the query has a very deviant mind (but I will admit there are some of those people out there writing SQL). DB2 will automatically optimize and "re-write" the query during runtime optimization and compilation. You can see the query re-write using the explain.

But you can improve query performance by changing the indexes, and the DB2 Index Adviser can help with that. Check the Command Reference manual.

There are some 3rd party tools that may help with re-writing a query, but I don't know if they do any good or what DB2 does automatically.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

@ lksimbha, use DB2 Command Editor to get info about Visual Explain.

@ Marcus_A, I have seen 100s of badly written SQLs. Many users don't even join tables using full primary key columns. More complex is SQL more is room to improve badly written SQL.