Unanswered: How do I properly update related tables with a tableadapter?

I am a software engineer over in Japan, and I have been designing an in-house tool for my company. It makes heavy use of the Microsoft Access 2003 format database (mdb).

I taught myself databases in a day, so I am obviously not experienced. Thus, I want to ask a few questions.

First, as the, title states, I want to know how to properly use the tableadapter to update my database.

Right now, I have relations set up like this:
    1 2
    Category -> Subcategory

the "->" is a child relation indicator, and the "," means they are on the same level.
    If they are on separate lines, they are not related to each other.

So, what I originally tried to do was update insertions to the Category,Template,People, and Places tables first. I used the Update method of the table adapter, selecting Added rows as what I am updating.

Like so: TableAdapter.Update(Category.Select(AddedRows)).

After I was done updating the insertions to the database for Category,Template,People, and places, I updated the insertions to the Subcategory and ItemTemplate tables.

After that, I updated insertions to the CompanyFromTemplate and TypeTemplate tables.

For deletions and modifications, I updated the children first.
    So, I updated the CompanyFromTemplate and TypeTemplate tables first, then ItemTemplate and Subcategory, and then the Category, Template, People, and Places tables.

I thought this would work fine, and it seemed to for everything but insertions.
    Using only tableadapters, I received an OleDbException telling me that I am trying to add a subcategory before a category has been added. The exception would only occur if I added a category then a subcategory to that category, then updated. Furthermore, it would not always occur even if I did do that. It was random, as far as I could tell. I had a very hard time reproducing it.