Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Show a Ranking in a Report

All,
    I looked thru the help files and scanned around but didn't come up with an answer.

I am creating a report that will show different buildings and the audit scores that they got. In Excel, we used the RANK function to show who was number 1, who was number 2, etc.

I can't find a way to do the same thing in Access, any ideas?

RANK isn't listed as a function in the Access Functions list, but when you type it in the expression builder and add a parenthesis, it does see it as a function but I won't have a cell range to reference it to.

Any and all help appreciated!

Thanks Pappa Smurf! I'll give it a try!

I'm new to using the SQL feature on Access Queries, so....

My table name is DC_Scorecard. The is a field that is named Audit, which is grouped and will have 10 entries under the DC field (different DC numbers). The ranking criteria will come from a field named Accuracy_Percent.

I have tried a couple of combinations using your example and changing out the names, but it doesn't like it. Any suggestions?

Please post a zipped copy of your table with some data and also the queries used for your grouping etc.

Here is the table and the query.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Bob

Would please zip and send the table as it is linked to a back end and does appear in your attachment.

Man, what a goof, I knew that, don't know why I imported the link!!!

Sorry about that, here you go!

Bob

Attached is the updated version with the ranking.

1. I created a new query using your query DC_Scorecard_Report
    2. In the new query I changed the alias of the query to Final_Rankings
    3. I then changed the code in the Rankings column to the relevant fields of the query
    4. I saved the query as qry_rankings.