Post Unanswered: Can union query be updated by updating its sources tables

Hi

I'm new to access db and have been asked to create a database for work.
    I have created multiples tables with the same type of data because each table represents a different process area.

eg. tbl1, field1 = location, field2 = result (number field)
    tbl2, field1 = location, field2 = result (number field)
    (the location data is obtain from list of fixed locations)

I have created a union query to combine information from both tables so that I can represent the data as a total result for that month by location (the common data).

An example of my union is:
    SELECT [tbl1].[field1], [tbl1].[field2]
    FROM [tbl1]
    UNION
    SELECT [tbl2].[field1], [tbl2].[field2]
    FROM [tbl2]

From this union query I have created a select query so that I can perform calculations on the results and link data from another table to this result so that I can creat a chart to show monthly trends to management.

It works, however my dilema is that when new data is entered data into eg. tbl1 and tbl2, I have to physical run the union query again to see the update.

Is it possible to link in someway this data so that management can just click the chart button and it shows the update of data on the chart without having to run the union and select query everytime?

I am rattling my head for fear i have set up the table in a way that makes it impossible to achieve what I want.

If anyone can help me with this it will save me time and the headach of needing change the database with different tables.

thanks heaps
    Chop

If your select query is based on the union query, it should pull the current data from the tables. However, you definitely want to rethink your table design. Rather than having a table for each process area, create one table that includes a field for process area. You are bound to run into further problems and have to spend time coming up with work-arounds in the future.

Question