Unanswered: Need some help with VB problem

Hi, I am fairly new to using access and was after a few pointers. I am currently devising a form which I want to be able to dispaly a command button which will (when pressed) output a query TOTAL. I have found it is simple enough to output a query to another form, but I want the text box?? to output the data directly to the form (which has the command button on). If that makes sense.

I have managed to find a similar database from 97 which has a vb statement inc. I have copied the code and made it relevant to my form. When I press this button I get the error "Type mismatch" on screen. Here isd the statement :

Private Sub cmdSB_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_cmdSB_Click

Dim stDocName As String
    Dim rst As Recordset
    Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("SELECT count(error2) FROM TCLP_PASS1 WHERE error2='SB';")
    Debug.Print rst
    Me!txtSB = rst!Count
    stDocName = "TCLP -SB"
    DoCmd.OpenQuery stDocName, acNormal, acEdit

Exit_cmdSB_Click:
    Exit Sub

Err_cmdSB_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_cmdSB_Click

End Sub

Where TCLP -SB is the query it is connected too and txtSB is the data field.
    As I stress I am fairly new and I assumed thast this would be a fairly common procedurebut seems to not be. Is their a simpler way to accomplish this?????

Any help would be much appreciated.

Ste

Me!txtSB = rst!Count
    I'm just guessing here but I think you may have a problem with

Me!txtSB = rst!Count

Your sql string inside the openrecordset command doesn't have anything called "Count". Yes you use the count function but the recordset probably is returning something like countoferror2. Try using an alias instead:

Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("SELECT count(error2) as myalias FROM TCLP_PASS1

and then use

Me!txtSB = rst!myalias

again, I'm not confident that this is your problem but I could see how it would cause problems