Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Duplicate results in the query

    Good day,

    I have this annoying problem with one of my queries, in that it would display the results twice. is there any work around for that problem. let me know if more details is needed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    yes, the workaround is to determine why the double results are being produced, and fix it

    so, um, yeah, more details is needed

    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8
    lol...ok

    the query is to find a teacher schedule by inputing the teacher's name, the day, Period (time) and it displays
    the |Teacher Name | Subject | Day | Period | Class | Form/Grade |
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled1.jpg   Untitled2.jpg  
    Last edited by netlab; 02-16-09 at 00:05.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    gee, i can't see the query

    and i got a ~most~ annoying porn popup from that link -- you should simply attach your diagram to your post here, rather than uploading it to a dodgy site
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8
    wow...deeply sorry about that, i use adblock plus extension with firefox so i never saw any porn popups and wasn't aware there were any. Again sorry about that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    Quote Originally Posted by netlab
    I have this annoying problem with one of my queries, in that it would display the results twice.
    dump the allegedly duplicate data and examine it -- you will find that it is different in at least one column
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    is there duplicate data in the original tables
    or is it just possible you have a malformed join?
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8
    checked the duplicate data and they were the same in all columns. So I'm guessing its the malformed join as suggested by healdem. O well will check over my entity relationship diagram to see where the problem lies. Thanks a lot for all the help

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,422
    Provided Answers: 7
    What I would do is drop each table run it and check that way
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    Try putting all your criteria on the same line.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •