Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: memory problem on db2

    hi everyone,

    I have a question regarding memory. I have server which contains 16 gig of physical RAM but DB2 only detects 4 gig RAM. What do you think is the problem with it. Also we have been encountering it for the last 2 months. What do you think would be the best way to solve this memory problem.

    thanks.

    Jane

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    What makes you think DB2 only detects 4 GB RAM? Please tell us what DB2 license and version you have (issue db2level command).
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    check if this link answers your question:
    IBM DB2 9.5 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    11

    db2 memory problem

    this is based on the logs output by db2pd and the db2diag.log I am using DB2 version 9.5.

    See below::

    DB2 Release Info

    Server is running EE.
    DB21085I Instance "DB2" uses "64" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09050"
    with

    level identifier "03010107".

    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.5.0.808", "s071001", "NT6495", and Fix
    Pack

    "0".

    Product is installed at "C:\PROGRA~1\IBM\SQLLIB" with DB2 Copy Name
    "DB2COPY1".
    ############

    2008-09-24-17.07.10.843000+480 I1F948 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 3044 TID : 1176 PROC : db2start.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 1176
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, RAS/PD component, pdLogInternal, probe:120
    START : New Diagnostic Log file
    DATA #1 : Build Level, 152 bytes
    Instance "DB2" uses "64" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09050"
    with level identifier "03010107".
    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.5.0.808", "s071001", "NT6495", Fix Pack
    "0".
    DATA #2 : System Info, 1568 bytes
    System: WIN32_NT ARCSTAGE Service Pack 2 5.2 AMD64 Family 6, model 23,
    stepping 6
    CPU: total:4 online:4 Cores per socket:4 Threading degree per core:1
    Physical Memory(MB): total:4096 free:2504 available:2504
    Virtual Memory(MB): total:5172 free:6965
    Swap Memory(MB): total:1076 free:4461
    Information in this record is only valid at the time when this file was
    created (see this record's time stamp)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    First of all, you should get off of FP 0. The latest is FP3a and there are many bug fixes since FP 0. Working with FP 0 is suicidal.

    Second, If you are running Express Edition (which I assume is what you mean by EE) then it can only use 4GB of memory according to the license terms and it is now enforced in Version 9.5. To use 16 GB of memory, you will need Workgroup Server Edition (up to 16 GB), or Enterprise Server Edition (no limit).

    To verify the edition you are licensed for, type:
    db2licm -l (letter L in lowercase)
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    janeprodriguez, execute "db2licm -l" as Marcus_A has suggested, then read the following article, you probably have DB2 Express installed, see limitations by edition: Compare the distributed DB2 9.5 data servers
    Last edited by grofaty; 02-18-09 at 09:05.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by janeprodriguez
    System: WIN32_NT ARCSTAGE Service Pack 2 5.2 AMD64 Family 6, model 23,
    stepping 6
    CPU: total:4 online:4 Cores per socket:4 Threading degree per core:1
    Physical Memory(MB): total:4096 free:2504 available:2504
    Virtual Memory(MB): total:5172 free:6965
    Swap Memory(MB): total:1076 free:4461
    So, why do you think DB2 should detect more RAM?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    An addendum to what Nick has just posted

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    11

    db2 memory problem

    Hi marcus,

    We are using DB2 WORKGROUP SERVER EDITION v 9.5.

    fyi,

    Jane

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    I don't know for sure what is going on, but this looks suspicious from your first post and it appears that DB2 thinks you have a 32 bit system:

    System: WIN32_NT

    A 32 bit system cannot address more than 4 GB (as n_i pointed out above). You did not say what OS version you are using.

    Like I said, you should upgrade to latest fixpack and then maybe contact IBM support if you still have problems.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •