Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    88

    Unanswered: converting appl id to ip address in partitioned environment

    Hi Folks,
    does anyone has any idea how to convert this application id into ip address,protocol used is TCP/IP only

    Application ID = 003C2FF0.CF6C.F3C2F9C6C1F0

    The problem is that it starts with 00 and its conversion into decimal is also 00, so I do not know any ip address starting with 00 , so m a bit sceptical.

    I think it has something to do with partitioning.

    Thanks in advance
    Ajay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    try
    Code:
    select inbound_comm_address from table(snapshot_appl('sample',-1)) as t
    where sample is the name of your database.....

    However there is one drawback.... for local connections it'll display LOCAL.Instancename instead of I.P.
    Last edited by nick.ncs; 02-18-09 at 12:18.
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    How did you get this application ID (which SQL statement)?
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    88
    Stolze,

    I got it by snapshot for application agnetid

    And the table snapshot function is not working as well...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Could you be a bit more specific and show us the SQL statements and also demonstrate what you mean by "not working"? The exact output would be helpful. And as usual, please state the DB2 version and platform you are using.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by stolze
    And as usual, please state the DB2 version and platform you are using.
    This seems to be a pretty common feature now.

    Can the Admin do something like compulsorily ask the user to input the following fields for every new post -
    DB2 Version
    OS Version

    This would definitely stop half the to and fro in the posts....
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    88
    yuup nick...

    my mistake...
    DB2 version is 8.1 fix pak 14 and OS is AIX..

    when I used table functions it started giving me ADM11000E DB2 is unable to create or attach to the memory segment used for fenced routine communications.
    Error

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by stolze
    Could you be a bit more specific and show us the SQL statements and also demonstrate what you mean by "not working"? The exact output would be helpful.
    Please state this.... maybe we can help you out then.
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Re: ADM11000E

    Some built-in functions are fenced. The error indicates that db2 was unable to attach to the segment used for fenced mode communications. With 32-bit architecture on AIX, db shared memory will be attached in a set of contiguous segments and can occupy up to 8 segments. The location of fenced mode segment is not at a fixed address and it's determined based on your setting (this is done to allow more room for db shared memory set). You'll get this error if the segment is already in use. To resolve the error, db shared memory allocation needs to be reduced (ie. reduce bufferpools). This limitation goes away with 64-bit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •