Unanswered: Creating/testing stored procedures and UDFs

Hi, I have a tricky job to do and ideally need to do it in a way that's generic across databases (SQL Server, Oracle, Sybase & DB2). At the moment I'm struggling with creating and using stored procedures and UDFs in DB2, and I'd also like in general to know how one would approach this task in DB2.

I'm new to DB2, with lots of experience woth SQL Server and some with MySql & Sybase.

This is the problem: -
    I have to build up a report matrix consisting of several hundred cells (16 columns x 23 rows). I have to do this for each record in an Asset Class table, so ending up with a number of these matrices, plus a total matrix at the end. Obviously I'm going to put this information into a table for subsequent reporting. Each cell can be created by running a simple "SELECT SUM(value) WHERE condition 1 and condition 2" , and there are a limited number of SELECTs & WHERE conditions (basically a SELECT & a WHERE per column, and a WHERE per row). I could therefore construct the SELECT statement for each cell, rather than having to hand-code the whole lot - e.g. column 4 row 7 would be SELECT_Col4 + WHERE_Col4 + WHERE_Row7.

My SQL Server solution would be: -
    1. Create a table with the SELECT & WHERE clauses in it as text columns.
    2. Create a UDF (User-Defined Function) which gets passed the column & row number, uses these to grab the statements parts, concatenates them into a string to form the whole select statement, runs it to get the resulting SUM(value) and Returns this value.
    3. Write a script that
    a) Loops through my Asset Class table (using either a cursor or a temporary table)
    b) Inserts an empty results record for each row in the matrix
    c) calls the UDF once for each cell and updates the appropriate value in my results table
    d) When the loop terminates, sum all the values for the final totals matrix

My DB2 problems are: -