Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Cool Unanswered: How to Export DB2 databases from DB2 Client admin V7

    Hi,

    I was asked to migrate our WINDOWS clients from DB2 Client Admin V7 to DB2 Client Admin V9. Is there a way to export the databases that are configured on the clients into a file and then import it after i installed V9.

    When i open Client Configuration Assistant, i can see all the DB2 Databases that are catalgued on the workstation. But when i press on EXPORT and then delete them all, and i press on IMPORT select the file, they are not coming back.

    I don't know much about DB2...

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Look at the db2cfexp and db2cfimp commands.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Hi,

    I've tried that too. When i do db2cfexp c:\db2exp.spf backup , the file is created. I copy the file on my other client on the c: drive. Then i type on my other computer: db2cfimp c:\db2exp.spf and when i go to Client Configuration Assistant there's no databases.

    If i try the import manually in the Client Configuration Assistant, and i select my SPF file, i can only import the Client settings. I can't add a check box in front of Databases.

    Is there a reason for that?

    Thank you again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    I tend not to use the Client Configuration assistant as it does some stuff I do not like. I usually just use the command line to add DBs, etc.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I suspect that the file format may have changed between versions 7 and 9. I guess you would need to recatalog databases manually, at least on one client machine. If you have many of those, export the settings using the v.9 configuration assistant.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Well, at first, i just want to try to export the databases settings on V7. Is there any reason why when i export it, with the command or the graphical interface i see nothing in the export file containing Databases informations. When i look around on the internet, every one that uses the db2cfexp command, it export the databases informations. All i get in my export file is this:

    ;Use BINARY file transfer

    [FILE_DESCRIPTION]
    APPLICATION=DB2/NT 7.2.5
    FILE_CONTENT=DB2 CCA Exported Data Sources
    FILE_TYPE=CommonServer
    FILE_FORMAT_VERSION=2.0
    Platform=5
    DB2SYSTEM=
    Instance=DB2

    [REGISTRY_GLOBAL]
    DB2INSTDEF=DB2

    [REGISTRY_LOCAL]
    DB2_ENABLE_LDAP=YES

    [DBM_CONFIG]
    Nodetype=2
    Version=0
    Release=0x900
    Dos_rqrioblk=4096
    Discover=2
    Rqrioblk=32767
    Catalog_noauth=1
    Notifylevel=2
    Dft_account_str=
    Discover_comm=
    Sysadm_group=
    Dir_cache=1
    Drda_heap_sz=128
    Diaglevel=3
    Sysmaint_group=
    Sysctrl_group=
    Tp_mon_name=
    Tm_database=1ST_CONN
    Dft_client_adpt=0
    Dir_type=0
    Dir_obj_name=
    Route_obj_name=
    Dft_client_comm=
    Authentication=SERVER

    [INST>DB2]
    instance_name=DB2
    NodeType=2
    ServerType=DB2NT

    Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •