Unanswered: How do I use Relational Tables properly

Ok, I have a database issue that I cannot seem to grasp, maybe I just don't understand it, but regardless, I think the issue should be simpler than it actually appears to be.

In a nutshell, I have a master table with a dozen fields (customer) then I have 5 additional tables. Some have information, some don't, but all will eventually.
    I programmatically create a relationship between customer.id and orders.id, payments.id and the remaining tables. Access shows the table relationships correctly.
    "Customer" will have only 1 entry per customer, while the remaining tables will have multiple entries per customer, thus defining a one-to-many relationship between the master table and child tables.
    When I query the database i.e. (SELECT * FROM Customers), I don't get the related fields. I understand that I must query all the tables ... but when I do, I either get no records (because the child table is empty) or I get the number of records in the customer table multiplied by the number of records in each of the subsequent tables.

So, to start with I have 5 customers in the master table, with 5 items in each of the 5 child tables. I end up with 15625 records, clearly I don't want every possible permutation of records. I merely want to retrieve the records from each table as they relate to the record in the master table.

For example what might be returned when issuing the following query
    (SELECT * FROM Orders Where ID = CustomerID)
    but I need this for at least 5 tables, and then I need to display this data in a DataGrid.

It certainly seems complicated to me. I am hoping someone will show me the errors of my ways and explain this in a way I can understand.

Hi