Thread: Need sed help

Unanswered: Need sed help

Hi All...I need to rearrange columns using a one-line sed command. Here's my file:

John Adams 55
    George Bull 77
    Anne Blue 99
    Janet Blue 67
    Ben Benjamin 78
    Ted White 32

The spaces between columns are random. I need the file to look like this:

Adams, John 55
    Bull, George 77
    etc...

Basically, last name, first name and age. separated by no more than one space. Thanks in advance for your help!

This looks a lot like homework.
    What methods have you tried so far?
    Does it have to be done just in a sed command?

Thanks for the quick reply...I'm a beginner in UNIX, and it is in fact homework, but unfortunately, it's not like anything covered in the text, and the instructor hasn't been responsive (it's a distance learning class). The fact I haven't come up with a solution certainly isn't due to a lack of effort.

A one-line sed command is required (seems like it would be a pretty extreme command), the closest I've been able to come is keeping everything in place, including the random spaces between columns, but with the comma after the age.

These are some of the commands I've tried...

sed 's/.* $/&, [0-9][0-9]/' filename
    sed 's/^ .* $/&, [0-9][0-9]/' filename

I'm not necessarily looking for the answer, per se, but if you can point me in the right direction or just a hint that would be great, if it's possible. Ultimately, I really want the knowledge, not to just get through the class. Thanks again.

One more thing..I've also tried using back references, but still don't have a solid grasp on those and get only 'invalid back reference' errors.

Provided Answers: 1
    Code:
    sed 's/\([^ ]\{1,\}\) \(.*\) \([0-9]\{1,\}\)/\2, \1 \3/' filename
    This will work with multi word last names e.g. Piet Van Der Hoff 103
    sed supports the basic regular expressions described on the regexp(5) manual page. Read the man page.
    man -s 5 regexp
    Last edited by pdreyer; 02-24-09 at 03:46.