Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Unanswered: MS Access 2003 button not react

    Hi everyone,
    I am working on a MS access 2003 application, I create a botton in a form to open up a report. it works in most of machines, but on one machine, the botton does not react at all. Is anyone know what could it be?

    Thank you very much for your help.

    iy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Welcome to the forums

    Is there anything different about this one machine? What is the code being used to open the report? Have you gone into debugger mode yet? What particular line of code is causing the error?
    Me.Geek = True

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Can you manually open the report on that machine? Without using the button?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    MS Access 2003 button not react

    No, I can't manually open the report on that machine without using the button.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    93
    you will be able to open the reports manaually as far as it has no errors
    but if the report is linked to the form for some values then could be trouble..

    have u tried on debugging ?

    probably try to set some debugging points ..which wil lead you to the error

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Quote Originally Posted by iParty
    No, I can't manually open the report on that machine without using the button.
    Then it has nothing to do with the button. Fix the report so that it runs manually first and then try your button again.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Does this report have code? When apps run fine on one machine and not on another or run fine in one version and not when run under a newer version, the first thing you have to think about are missing references.

    Here are Doug Steele's detailed instructions on how to troubleshoot the problem:

    *** Quote ***

    Any time functions that previously worked suddenly don't, the first thing to suspect is a references problem.

    This can be caused by differences in either the location or file version of certain files between the machine where the application was developed, and where it's being run (or the file missing completely from the target machine). Such differences are common when new software is installed.

    On the machine(s) where it's not working, open any code module (or open the Debug Window, using Ctrl-G, provided you haven't selected the "keep debug window on top" option). Select Tools | References from the menu bar. Examine all of the selected references.

    If any of the selected references have "MISSING:" in front of them, unselect them, and back out of the dialog. If you really need the reference(s) you just unselected (you can tell by doing a Compile All Modules), go back in and reselect them.

    If none have "MISSING:", select an additional reference at random, back out of the dialog, then go back in and unselect the reference you just added. If that doesn't solve the problem, try to unselect as many of the selected references as you can (Access may not let you unselect them all), back out of the dialog, then go back in and reselect the references you just unselected. (NOTE: write down what the references are before you delete them, because they'll be in a different order when you go back in)

    For far more than you could ever want to know about this problem, check out

    Access Reference Problems

    Just so you know: the problem will occur even if the library that contains the specific function that's failing doesn't have a problem.

    **** End Quote ****
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •