Unanswered: Help with an Asset Tracking database

Hi,

I'm new to Access but have an understanding of programming (although Java not vb).

I am making my own Asset Tracking database for an events company. Basically the tables that exist are: Assets, Products, Events and Clients. An Asset is an object confirming to the specifications of a certain product. A product may have many assets, but any asset can have only one product. Products get assigned to jobs (Events) and then asset numbers get assigned to those products that the event requires. The Asset table has a field "Product" which is a reference to its parent product.

Additionally, I felt the need to introduce groups; specifically, I have "Product Group" and "Asset Group" tables. My idea was that if Assets are physically linked and this link cannot be broken when asset assignments are made, then these assets are said to belong to a common Asset Group. Assets are locked to an Asset Group through a "Locked to" field.

"Product Groups" are groups of independent assets which work coherently to serve a purpose. A very basic (and rather ridiculous) example would be a Product Group "Kettle" which is the parent of two items: "kettle appliance" and "kettle cord". Products are "Locked to" Product Groups, but this lock is not as concrete as the Asset Group lock, as it plausible that individual items from a Product Group may be requested (such as spare unit or expansion units).

So far I have had some trouble with my "Asset Details" form. This form has the following page tabs: Asset Details, Comments, Product Details, Asset Group Details, Current Location.