Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: real time error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    29

    Unanswered: Time Interval? or Real Time error

    Please help, right now i am developing a software i use vb6.0 and msAccess (the version before 2008). my database is placed on D: drive, and my code is working great. But now, they decided to make a network, so now i have to place my database in a network, its path is \\Server\Folder1\database.mdb

    now,there are two computer working with one database, computer one edit Row1 and Computer2 edit Row2 then they both hit update or save or delete, the database should be updated both row1 and row2, this works with me right now. but i am thinking of a possible error, "REAL TIME" error where the row1 will be updated base on the edited record but row2 remains the same(or not updated base what computer2 did) or vise versa.

    is there any solution to prevent this error?

    like having time interval or if the Computer1 click save then computer2 click save, a msgbox or timer will pop up telling computer2 have to wait and count maybe 30 seconds so that the database will be updated, then after that, save what computer2 did.

    I am not thinking of migrating other database because, if i remember it right, i had read oracle book that there are really real time that before computer2 receive the changes from computer1 they have to wait seconds or minute to see the updated database.

    hope you understand what i am trying to explain
    and
    hope there is a way the solve this problem.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    29

    real time error

    Please help, right now i am developing a software i use vb6.0 and msAccess (the version before 2008). my database is placed on D: drive, and my code is working great. But now, they decided to make a network, so now i have to place my database in a network, its path is \\Server\Folder1\database.mdb

    now,there are two computer working with one database, computer one edit Row1 and Computer2 edit Row2 then they both hit update or save or delete, the database should be updated both row1 and row2, this works with me right now. but i am thinking of a possible error, "REAL TIME" error where the row1 will be updated base on the edited record but row2 remains the same(or not updated base what computer2 did) or vise versa.

    is there any solution to prevent this error?

    like having time interval or if the Computer1 click save then computer2 click save, a msgbox or timer will pop up telling computer2 have to wait and count maybe 30 seconds so that the database will be updated, then after that, save what computer2 did.

    I am not thinking of migrating other database because, if i remember it right, i had read oracle book that there are really real time that before computer2 receive the changes from computer1 they have to wait seconds or minute to see the updated database.

    hope you understand what i am trying to explain
    and
    hope there is a way the solve this problem.

    Thanks in advance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Moved to MS Access topic
    George
    Home | Blog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    table/row/record locks
    transactions
    error trapping
    compare for a hashcode
    look for a last updated flag

    and personally I'd leave it as a VB thread, its about application language (VB 6) rather than an Access/JET problem
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    29

    error

    thanks for reply.

    I'll add it (adlockoptimistic) to all my queries,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •