Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Multiple degrees?

Hello, I'm a second year MIS student. I've recently done a course on DB analysis & design and I have to say I'm hooked. I think a job in this field would be for me;unfortunately, after having browsed through a number of job hiring websites like workopolis and monster, a job in database development or administration requires a massive amount of technical know-how. It seems like a CS degree is more suitable for positions in the DB field.

My dilemma is whether or not I should get a CS degree on top of my MIS degree because it seems almost impossible to get a job in the DB field without knowledge in things like java, ASP.NET, shell scripting, UNIX, Linux, vb script, PL/SQL, and the list goes on and on.

Many perspectives would be much appreciated!

you don't really need to worry about getting both

surely there's going to be a lot of overlap between CS and MIS degress

what exactly is the difference at your school?

anyhow, regarding getting a job...

one thing that you can do to help your chances is to build an online database application in teh interwebs

you'll need at least one scripting language like java, asp, php, etc., as well as a rudimentary knowledge of html and css

after that, just build a database-driven site and use it as a "demo" of your database skills

what should it be about? whatever you're really interested in

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

But see, the way the degree is designed is to mesh business skills and some technical skills together. I'll be quite frank, most of the graduates end up getting jobs as systems analysts or business analysts. Most of the courses revolve around business processes, ICT, decision analysis, project management, accounting, etc. The problem is that they give us an 'introductory' course on programming (i.e. learn simple programming constructs using VB).