identifying and non-identifying relationship

Hi everybody!

This post seems (ok, ok, ...it is) huge but it is very clear (I hope at least) so, don't fear to read it :-)

I'm quite new to software developing and in these last months i drilled down into database design theory in order "to do things properly". I'm now designing an application for managing personal investments and i would like to discuss with you some aspect of the database design.

The "business rules" i intend to use are:

1. each investor can have 0, 1 or several portfolios (with portfolio i mean a group of investments) and each portfolio MUST belong to one and only one investor

2. each portfolio can have 0, 1 or several investments and each investment MUST belong to one and only one portfolio

3. an investment (for example an investment fund) can have 0, 1 or several events (events are every kind of money movement regarding the investment) and each event MUST belong to one and only one investment

4. an investment, MUST belong to one and only one investment type (no matter now what they are)

5. an event, MUST belong to one and only one event type (no matter now what they are)

Here is the logical model i set up.

I think the model is a working one but there are some subtle issues i'd like discuss here: