Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

db design/relationship/unkown no. of entries

I've been reading a lot of books lately for a project website I'm working on, but I'm still a newb. I'm trying to create a recipe database, but not sure how I'm going to implement some of the feature I want. For example, I want users to be able to submit there own recipes, and then be able to search all the recipes available. I also want them to be able to create a personal menu and then extract a shopping list from that menu. I have a table for recipes, but when I get to ingredients column, I'm not sure what the best method is. I originally thought about making 10-20 columns called ing01-ing20, or something like that, but I feel like I'm over complicating it. Is there a more logical way to this. I thought about a many to many relationship but then I'd have to have all the possible ingredients predefined and members would have to select ing from a drop down menu or something similar, when submitting new recipes.

Quote Originally Posted by Toady00
    I originally thought about making 10-20 columns called ing01-ing20, or something like that, but I feel like I'm over complicating it. Is there a more logical way to this. I thought about a many to many relationship but then I'd have to have all the possible ingredients predefined and members would have to select ing from a drop down menu or something similar, when submitting new recipes.
    Look up normalisation, and in particular First Normal Form.
    You don't need to have all ingredients predefined for many to many relationships. However, having a list is useful. To save typing it all in, you can start off with a publicly available database, e.g. USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Release 18
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

I'm trying to create a recipe database