Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: creating a blog

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Unanswered: creating a blog

    Hi all I want to create a blog which will be our daily log (activities) that we do on a daily basis. I want sQL server to be the keeper of the data and for it to have a webinterface. Just something simple, does anyone know of where I can get information on how to do that??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Sounds like you want to build the thing yourself?
    Have you considered out-of-the-box options such as wordpress, joomla!, even SharePoint..?
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Or use a Wiki.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Wiki ++
    George
    Home | Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    For wikis, there are loads of open source downloadable ones. We use a free hosted one called wetpaint. Sadly the buggers don't provide a version you can host yourself, so it depends how sensitive the information you intend to post is.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    thanks guys for your replies, so is making one that difficult, cause we just want it to be an interoffice thing. And it will be confidential so we want it on our own server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Funnily enough, I was reading this earlier:
    Adam Machanic : Things I Know Now...
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    I found wetpaint injected
    Wetpaint Injected Resources - Wetpaint Injected

    this is interesting

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    I think, but can't remember, that injected is "value added" (i.e. not free).
    We used this:
    Wiki - Free Website - Wetpaint
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    I just wonder how difficult it would be to build one in house. The informtion will be confidential

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    I think, but can't remember, that injected is "value added" (i.e. not free).
    We used this:
    Wiki - Free Website - Wetpaint

    wiki enables you to host yourself, I will take a look at it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    4
    I am trying to move all my IBM content Manager images(v7.2) from optical (3995) to Netapp and elminate TSM once it is on NetAPP. What are utility are available to do this so that CM will know the new location of the images. Help!! I have been trying to figure this out for awhile ...any help will be appreciated. I Have AIX v5.2 but will be moving to a new AIX server(v5.3) and TSM will not be installed on the new AIX server for CM.

    Eliminating TSM for CM on the new AIX 5.3 SERVR

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by iwitt
    I am trying to move all my IBM content Manager images(v7.2) from optical (3995) to Netapp and elminate TSM once it is on NetAPP. What are utility are available to do this so that CM will know the new location of the images. Help!! I have been trying to figure this out for awhile ...any help will be appreciated. I Have AIX v5.2 but will be moving to a new AIX server(v5.3) and TSM will not be installed on the new AIX server for CM.

    Eliminating TSM for CM on the new AIX 5.3 SERVR
    Well, if your analysis of the problem is as astute as your analysis of where best to post your question then you'll be just fine I'm sure.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    Well I got Visual Web Developer 2008 Express and I created my first Web based Data entry form, but its on a MDF so I guess I need the enterprise version for it to connect to SQL Server Enterprise

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789
    Quote Originally Posted by desireemm
    Well I got Visual Web Developer 2008 Express and I created my first Web based Data entry form, but its on a MDF so I guess I need the enterprise version for it to connect to SQL Server Enterprise

    this situatiion has defintely been taken care of. thanks for the wonderful advice guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •