Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Reading Unicode from Oracle 10g database

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have been looking for answers to my problem for a week and I have not been able to find any answers.

Problem: We had to add support for Polish and Vietnamese to some of our applications. I added two columns to a table and set the data type for both of them to nvarchar. I then used java jdbc connection to enter data into these columns. I opened Toad 9.7.2 to view the characters. I had to change the font on the data grid to a font that supports these characters sets. After I did that, I was able to view the characters as expected. So far so good.

Next, I made an attempt to get these characters out. I decided to generate an xml file with the data and print it to IE through a servlet. When I looked at the XML, the characters have upside down ? in place of characters that are above unicode 255.

Database NLS Configuration:
    NLS_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_TERRITORY AMERICA
    NLS_CURRENCY $
    NLS_ISO_CURRENCY AMERICA
    NLS_NUMERIC_CHARACTERS .,
    NLS_CALENDAR GREGORIAN
    NLS_DATE_FORMAT DD-MON-RR
    NLS_DATE_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_CHARACTERSET WE8ISO8859P1
    NLS_SORT BINARY
    NLS_TIME_FORMAT HH.MI.SSXFF AM
    NLS_TIMESTAMP_FORMAT DD-MON-RR HH.MI.SSXFF AM
    NLS_TIME_TZ_FORMAT HH.MI.SSXFF AM TZR
    NLS_TIMESTAMP_TZ_FORMAT DD-MON-RR HH.MI.SSXFF AM TZR
    NLS_DUAL_CURRENCY $
    NLS_NCHAR_CHARACTERSET AL16UTF16
    NLS_COMP BINARY
    NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS BYTE
    NLS_NCHAR_CONV_EXCP FALSE

Java and Other Info:
    Java Runtime Env. 6
    Driver - ojdbc14.jar thin client
    Server - WebSphere 6.1.0.15 with Connection Polling
    OS - Windows XP Service Pack 3

I set my server's JVM file encoding to UTF-8 using -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8
    through the admin console. This allowed me to eventually get polish characters into a PDF. When I turn it off, I get #s in the PDF in place of non ascii characters.