Unanswered: Problem with insert if not exists query

Hi guys,

I am spending far too much time on dealing with this. I am new to Access and don`t really have a clue about what could be wrong.
    I have a form in access and on that form I have comboboxes and text boxes.
    I have a button at the bottom of the form.
    What I want to achieve is on click of that button I want all currently selected values in the combos to be inserted in a table only if the record as a whole doesn`t already exists.
    I started up creating the sql statement fisrts. I also don`t know how to exactly do the code behind that button so that when he record exist to return pou up message Record exists, if the record is inserted to say Record inserted sucessfully.
    Here is my access query that doesn`t work.it says It will append 0 records:

INSERT INTO Table( A, B, C, D, E, F, G )
    SELECT [Forms]![frmName]![combo7] AS Expr1, [Forms]![frmName]![combo9] AS Expr2, [Forms]![frmName]![combo49] AS Expr3, [Forms]![frmName]![combo15] AS Expr4, [Forms]![frmName]![text47] AS Expr5, [Forms]![frmName]![cboReportingPeriod] AS Expr6, [Forms]![frmName]![text21] AS Expr7
    FROM Table1 WHERE
    (((Exists (Select [A], [B], [C], [D], [E], [F], [G]
    from Table))=False));
    None of the combos is bound . They are all unbound and the values they display are based on select statement.

I am not sure how to reference all the values that are currently selected in the combos if I want to creat a function in the code behind eiher.
    For value selected in combo 9?What the syntax for that could be ?how could I declare it?

Please help.
    I am in trouble and I don`t get anything from access.

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by funky07; 03-24-09 at 14:52.

Provided Answers: 14