Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question Unanswered: Urgent ...data Export Fron Ms Access To Ms Excel

    hello,

    I am running a query with fields containing tick box (aiming to get the values "Yes" "No") but on import in MS excel it is showing true false ... ( when it should show yes , no) ... any ideas ...

    please need urgent help ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    How are you exporting to Excel? Have you looked at pootle's post in the Code Bank?
    Me.Geek = True

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Also consider formatting the column after the import... or search and replace. Otherwise you'll have to delve into the import code and do it there.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    Also consider formatting the column after the import... or search and replace. Otherwise you'll have to delve into the import code and do it there.
    import code ... any more information on that would be appriciated ..

    thnx

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    how are you doing your current extract
    if its a query then consider using an IIF statement


    true or false yes or no are just terminology
    it may be that 'all' you need do is to format a checkbox in excel
    but if its a query IIF(abooleanvalue,"Yes","No")
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    how are you doing your current extract
    if its a query then consider using an IIF statement


    true or false yes or no are just terminology
    it may be that 'all' you need do is to format a checkbox in excel
    but if its a query IIF(abooleanvalue,"Yes","No")
    Hello Healdem,

    thnakyou for your advise .. but the issue is that in access it shows Yes/No but when i export it to excel it changes the values into true false .. and as i am using an automatyed process to export the data by the click of a button ( using (VBA) it is a bit confusing why it changes the values from Yes/No to True/False.

    any ideas on that ?

    Thnx.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    I'd guess Access interprets false as no, true as yes when displaying in a report

    strictly speaking a boolean value is either true or false.
    boolean logic has no concept of yes/no, either the statement is true or its false.

    what is the SQL you are using?
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    I'd guess Access interprets false as no, true as yes when displaying in a report

    strictly speaking a boolean value is either true or false.
    boolean logic has no concept of yes/no, either the statement is true or its false.

    what is the SQL you are using?
    i am actually Using Access , and the export is from Access Db to Excel.

    so you think there is no way i can show true false as Yes No when generating exports to excel ....!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    no you can do whatever the heck you like. it depends on how the data is moved form JET to Excel.

    as said before what is the SQL you are using?
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    no you can do whatever the heck you like. it depends on how the data is moved form JET to Excel.

    as said before what is the SQL you are using?
    did I mention that I am using check box for yes/no ...!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    that was self evident
    what is the SQL you are using?

    OR failing that

    what is the process you are using to get the data from Access into Excel.

    how do you initiate the transfer from JET into Excel
    have you tried to put a checkbox into Excel, I'm not certain you can but I seem to remember that you can use checkboxes in excel
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    that was self evident
    what is the SQL you are using?

    OR failing that

    what is the process you are using to get the data from Access into Excel.

    how do you initiate the transfer from JET into Excel
    have you tried to put a checkbox into Excel, I'm not certain you can but I seem to remember that you can use checkboxes in excel
    thnx for your patience,

    i am gathering information from tables using a select query then saving it ... then using access's native export tools exporting it into excel spreadsheet.

    my main concern is that ... if i am asking a question in my database and there are multiple answers for that i can view when i generate a report .. if you know where i am comming from ..

    jet converts that boolean true/false in access for me but when the data is exported the concern appears ...

    i am sorry if i am not being very clear.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    so you are using an export of an Access/JET query
    in that case I'd suggest you modify uour query to display yes or no as suggested back in post #5

    select if(mybooleancolumn=true,"Yes","No") as aYesNoColumn from mytable
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •