Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: Access 2007 vs. 2003 - Errors using 07 - none in 03

    Weird situation creeped up. I use some small databases on a few Frontpage based web sites. I've been using the new .accdb format but ... seemingly, all of a sudden, the site refuses to work with the .accdb format. But, if I save as Access 2003 format, the database responds without errors...

    Any thoughts?
    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14
    Why don't you keep it in .mdb format then?

    Have a nice day!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    265
    What is the connection on the web? Does that need to change. I deliberately upgraded only to mdb for the web and internal databases to accdb.

    Simon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14
    I don't know how you interconnect Access and Frontpage but it should depends more on the data provider and the connection string you use than to such or such version of Access (I don't refer to Access 2 of course!). But maybe I'm missing something here.

    By the way (sorry!), FrontPage is dead. Not even Microsoft will support it anymore.
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/fr...743231033.aspx

    Have a nice day!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    If I had a choice, I would just forget about Access 2007.

    If you have a choice, just use MDB's. No sense making life difficult for yourself.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    265
    I had a look on the web try this:

    Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=c:\Path\File.accdb;Persist Security Info=False

    rather than:

    "Provider=Microsoft.JET.OLEDB.4.0;DATA SOURCE=C:\Path\File.mdb"

    So far as editing is concerned try:

    Microsoft Visual Web Developer 2008 Express

    Simon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •