Thread: Normalization

Question Unanswered: Normalization

Sorry to ask this, im a complete novice at DB but im trying to make a database for my place of work which holds an inventory of all the machines and peripherals in the building. I have so far made a spreadsheet of everything but am struggling on how exactly to normalize everything. I will list the fields I have in my spreadsheet below. I just want to know how to normalize and if I will need any more fields in order to do this successfully.

Equipment Number - Unique number assigned to all PCs and peripherals e.g CED00201

Staff/Trainee - whether the item is used by staff or trainees (students)

Item Type - what the item is e.g PC or Printer

Seller - where the item was purchased

Date of Purchase - when the item was purchased

Item Description - a description of the item e.g Mouse/Keyboard brand and type

Tag No/Serial Number - the PCs tag number or the items Serial number (always unique to item)

Computer Name - Name of the computer in the network (unique)
    e.g CEDAR-456A7546

Warranty - when the warranty expires

Location - the room the item is in

Site - a number between 1 and 30 of possible locations in the building (each number assigned on a map of building)

Date of disposal - when item is due for disposal

Notes - any notes on item e.g faulty

Ownership - which member of staff owns the item

All help of any kind is welcome,

Thanks very much

To get you started at least I would point you to either of these sites:
    Me.Geek = True

In terms of normalisation, your main problem is Site. This should be inferred from location.

There are other things you might want to consider:
    Are all items really only used by staff OR students?
    You might want to consider a batch table (something like an invoice header) containing all the stuff related to a batch (e.g. order date, vendor etc) instead of recording for each item.
    I would allow multiple notes per item, timestamped and signed for.