Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DB2 migration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: DB2 migration

    Hi,
    we are planing to move DB2(v5R2) from AS400 to new Windows server with DB2 v9.5. According
    to this link, DB2 versions are compatible and we can migrate database, is it possible to connect from COBOL application on AS400(boughten in 2004) to Windows DB2 v9.5 without any problems(i.e. data types incompatible,... )?
    Are there potential problems of migration and connection to new database?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    114
    from AS400 to Windows !? from bad to worse? eh?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    you right

    AS400 is very stable&reliable, but... right now, it suffers from high cpu utilization (Cobol applications + DB2 queries). Next step(workaround) is to separate DB from application logic. Do you know better solution?
    It's also possible to buy new iSeries server, but server is too expensive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    114
    Separating db from application is the worst thing that you can do for performance - this is why the initial "client/server" implementations failed so miserably. Network (the slowest component of any configuration) inserted between app and db (the most active interface for most systems) is a sure recipe for disaster. If you are going to introduce a new platform into the mix, get AIX (assuming that z/OS is outside of your price range
    If you do insist on moving the app away from db - start reading up on stored procedures, because that is probably the only way that idea can work well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by db2dummy1
    Separating db from application is the worst thing that you can do for performance
    Wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by db2dummy1
    Network (the slowest component of any configuration)
    Wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by db2dummy1
    is a sure recipe for disaster.
    Wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by db2dummy1
    If you are going to introduce a new platform into the mix, get AIX
    Wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by db2dummy1
    start reading up on stored procedures, because that is probably the only way that idea can work well.
    Wrong.

    All in all, it doesn't look like you have a lot of experience implementing multi-tier applications.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    114
    Correct - I grow kartoshka in my garden and sell at the bazar to make a living. I only come here to annoy you and Marcus sometimes

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Well,I just need answer, is it possible to convert DB2 database V5 (AS400) to DB2 database v9.5 (Windows, Linux,...)

    Ps. Network is 1 Gb, how can that be slow?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    114
    Yes - it is possible. If nothing else, you will have to define all objects on your target system and export/import data.

    Compared to the speed of other resources in your system (cpu, disk, memory, etc), 1 Gb network is ridiculously slow and is guaranteed to become the bottleneck if you split up your application as discussed above.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    OK, thank you.

    If you monitor full server environment you will see where is bottleneck.
    In my experience, network utilization is never more than 20-30% for about 200 user sessions and database approx. 20 GB large.

    Of course, this is not general rule because it depends from application architecture.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •