Unanswered: Advice, Do's & Donts needed before I network..

Hi guys,

Im about to put my database on a shared drive at work. I know i have to split the application from the table. I have never done this before.

Just so i keep everything in check its an XP network that we use. What advice can you all give me on what i need to do.

Thanks

Aboo

Splitting the mdb is a fairly easy process. Here's some things I personally do but others may do it differently.

1. Keep the backend and frontend in the same folder(s).
    2. If backend is in a different folder, make sure the user also has read/write permissions to that folder.
    3. If any table changes are made, refresh (or relink) the tables in the frontend.

You'll notice that splitting an mdb (via the wizard), is the same as if you were to go to: Tools-> Get External Data -> Link Tables (and then navigate to your backend mdb). If you're using some kind of permissions, I usually check the "Save Password" box when linking an external table (along with the other options).

4. Make sure both the frontend/backend are on a decent fast network drive. A slow network drive (or a drive which is hounded by antivirus software continually running scans), can cause problems. I tend to avoid having the backend on a totally different network drive.

5. Make sure all users connect to the backend via the same drive letter. An F: drive for one user might be a G: drive for another user. Usually MSAccess can keep track of this but it's something to consider. UNC names are ideal to use.

6. Don't forget to compact/repair the backend as well as the frontend.

7. After splitting the frontend/backend, I then like to use the "cloning" method in the code bank. This clones the "source" frontend mdb so that no 2 users are in the same frontend mdb (which will prevent errors like "the database is currently locked by another user....") - http://www.dbforums.com/6274786-post19.html
    Last edited by pkstormy; 04-19-09 at 11:50.