Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Western part of Georgia, USA
    Posts
    123

    Unanswered: Forumula showing not results

    Thanks in advance for your help!
    I have a spreadsheet downloaded from SAP that is saved as .xls. In which I have created a VLOOKUP. Instead of showing results; it is showing the formula. I have been doing this process for 2 months now and this is the first time I have had this issue. Can you please help me?
    Thanks,
    Lee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    511
    Hi,

    Couple of suggestions.

    1. Before you enter the formula make sure the cell is not formatted as text, otherwise you will get an apostrophe inserted in front of the formula, eg.:
    Code:
    '=VLOOKUP(C1,A1:B21,2,0)
    If there is an apostrophe you can just remove it.


    2. Tools | Options | View tab
    Make sure that the Formulas checkbox is not ticked.

    If you are using Excel 2007 this setting can be found under:
    Office Button | Excel Options | Advanced
    "Show formulas in cells instead of their calculated results"


    3.
    Formula showing in the cell but not the result. - MrExcel Message Board



    Let us know how you get on....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Western part of Georgia, USA
    Posts
    123
    Thanks! I did check the options tab and it was not checked. I did not check the format of the text before I entered the formula, however there wasn't a ' before the formula. Before I got your response, I noticed that in the Formula wizard, the right value was showing up there. I did a copy and paste special (values and formats) and it gave the result. I also noticed that I could not change the date format. I copied the sheet into another workbook and I could then format the date. Again, I am not sure why this is happening now as I did the same process last week and it worked. Anyway I have a work-around for now. Just curious what has changed.
    Thanks,
    Lee

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    511
    Hi Lee,

    Glad you got it working. If the problem persists you could always attach a sample workbook for us to have a look at?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Western part of Georgia, USA
    Posts
    123
    You were right in the beginning. I could not see the ' in front of the formula, but it must have been there. I tried (as you suggested) formating the Column to General before creating the formula and it did display the result.
    Thanks,
    Lee

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    511
    Excellent news! Always nice to know there's not something more "sinister" going on.......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •