Question Modelling catalogues of heterogeneous collections

I'm new in this forum, so I'd like to say hello to everyone, first!

As a complete novice in database design, I have been looking for some time for a discussion/introduction/guidelines about data modelling for what I would call "catalogues of heterogeneous collections".

I think, theses kinds of databases share many features, and are common enough, so that I (& others) could learn a lot by studying a detailed discussion about data modelling techniques, design patterns, performance & usability considerations, etc.

But I have found nothing in the web, or in books. Anyone could guide me, where to find such information? Anyone knows an interesting article or book-chapter? Maybe what keywords to look for? (My keywords have proven to be completely useless!)

The data structures I am interested in, show the following recurring characteristics:

• Queries are much more frequent than updates, and I want to be able to run complex queries.
    • Data consists essentially of a list of "properties" of some kind of physical entities. These entities belong to different classes, and each class has it's own set of attributes. In an object-oriented model, you could think of this as different subclasses, with both shared and specific properties.

A few examples should make this more clear:

• A media collection catalogue with different kinds of objects, such as books, music records, paintings, and sculptures. Some fields, such as 'author' or 'title' would be shared by all objects, but 'carrier' (canvas) and 'paint' (oil) would apply only to paintings, and not to books, for example.
    • Anthropological remains. Each kind of bone requires a specific set of metrics (in the order of dozens, each).
    • A vendor of light bulbs. What kind of technical characteristics and specifications are provided, depends on the type of ligth bulb (if it is incandescent, halogen, fluorescent, LED, plus the many subtypes).