Unanswered: is php suitable for grid based application?

I'm looking for a language to use for a hotel booking. It will need to run as an application and display scrollable grids on screen (say 100 cols by 30 rows). With the user clicking on cells or dragging them around to do things.

I'm very used to producing server based applications but I'm a newbie at applications. The language should be able to read and write to files (local and external). It should also be easy to install ie from an .exe etc. It would be nice if the language was free.

Would PHP handle this or should I be looking at VB, Java, flex, excel etc? Any thoughts welcome.

Mike

I guess not then

Provided Answers: 59
    php by itself no
    but used with a webserver and wth AJAX probably.

if you want a standalone application then I thgink you may need to use a traditional compiled language. whether thats JAVA, VB or whatever depends on you, your experience and whats available

I wouldn't rule out Access, especially as it can be deployed as a runtime, although drag and drop is not easy in VBA

You can get JAVA FoC, but equally you can get , ahem, studfent versions of Visual Studio for not a lot.

I suppose it depends what you are used to.

JAVA is supposed to be easy to learn and felxible. for me coming from a VB background its a pain, not least becuase so much of the language depends on other librories and other functions, not all of whuich are well documented. For me its been like learnign C/C++ I coudl never get to grips with what to me was an alien, newbie hostile language and environment
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Cheers for the info - I just looked at Ajax but found the grid controls a bit basic (at least on the open source links I found). I wasn't too taken with Java or C when I tried them last. I guess that leaves me caught between a rock and a hard place

Provided Answers: 54
    Take a look at the frameworks that are available.