Unanswered: UDF to limit users view of data

Hi All

I'm very new to DB2, I normally work with MySQL but my project needs to use data in a DB2 database.

The table on the DB2 database holds lots of customer data, including some sensitive information I don't want to put at risk. As I'm using PHP/ODBC to connect to DB2 I'll be storing the password in plain text. I need to find a way of limiting the DB2 userid so that it can't perform a full SELECT on the customer table (therefore revealing all the customer data).

I was led to believe that a User Defined function would allow me to run a select query on a table, and only return a single column in the result - hiding the select completely and allowing my DB2 user to have no SELECT privileges on the table - just the UDF.

This is probably the only time I'm likely to use DB2, and I'm in quite a hurry now (it took a long time to get our security guys to agree to my server having DB2 connectivity - it's that sensitive!). I'm struggling to find any tutorials, examples or recipes showing the equivalent of what I'm trying to do - perform a select statement on a table with given variables within a UDF and return the result as a table.

The select is basically:

SELECT CUST_ID FROM CUST_INFO WHERE SENSITIVE_FIELD LIKE 'partOfSensitiveFieldIKnow%' AND CUST_TYPE = custType

I'd need to create the UDF so I could use it like:

SELECT CUST_ID FROM myUdf(partofSensitiveFieldIKnow, custType);

Is this even possible? Any suggestions / examples about how to implement this would be appreciated.

Provided Answers: 5
    Yes, you can do this. You create the UDF to return a table, like this:

CREATE FUNCTION MySchema.UDF_Security(Security_level int)
    RETURNS table (col1 int, col2 int, ...)
    SPECIFIC MySchema.UDF_Security
    LANGUAGE SQL NOT DETERMINISTIC NO EXTERNAL ACTION READS SQL DATA CALLED ON NULL INPUT
    RETURN
    <full-select>

Then you select statement would look like this: