Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Informix Database Backup/Rebooted

    Scenario 1
    The Informix server is running a backup. How to know about this?

    Scenario 2
    The Informix server is rebooted. How to get information regarding this?


    Is there any system table from where we can ping and get the required information?

    Regards,
    Ruby

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    Quote Originally Posted by brainyr
    Scenario 1
    The Informix server is running a backup. How to know about this?
    Choose your favorite option:
    * onstat -g ath | grep arc
    * ps -fe |grep ontape
    * Read the LOG file and look for "Archive started"
    * select sh_narchivers from sysshmvals
    Quote Originally Posted by brainyr
    Scenario 2
    The Informix server is rebooted. How to get information regarding this?
    * onstat -
    * select dbinfo("utc_to_datetime",sh_boottime) sh_boottime from sysmaster:sysshmvals

    Quote Originally Posted by brainyr
    Is there any system table from where we can ping and get the required information?

    Regards,
    Ruby
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks a lot guys.I am new to informix and have no idea about the system tables.

    But I want to use sql query like "select * from sysmaster" which should return the database status.

    I want to query informix database from SSIS (SQl server integration serives) tool or you can say from windows env.I am not using any tool to connect to informix rather its a third party informix database. I need to use some queries or may be some scripts. I am not sure of.

    Please let me know your inputs on this.

    monthly maintenance is scheduled for the server.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    Just install Informix ODBC (get with CSDK) , configure your servername, protocol, port, user.
    connect to Informix and execute your SQLs.
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Hello ceinma,
    Thanks for the quick response. But i am still not sure if that is what i want.

    I don't have to use "Informix ODBC" or any client. The requiement is to use the SQL queries.
    I have some queries :-
    1) Can you please provide me SQL queries like 'Select something from database' which returns the database status (if it is available, if it is undergoing backup etc)
    2) What will happen if a database is undergoing backup and we try to connect to the database? Will the connection be available?
    3) How can we check from SQL query "select ...." if database is undergoing backup?

    Regards,
    Ruby

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Also,
    How can i access system table on informix? Will it require admin account?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    In informix you have the "sysmaster" database and tables called "sys*" on your own database.
    In the sysmaster , regular users have some limitations. If you don't have access for some table, use the "informix" user.

    For information about status look the tables sysshmvals and sysshmhdr ,
    to identify theirs structures read the file $INFORMIXDIR/etc/sysmaster.sql

    answring your questions:
    1) select * from sysmaster:sysshmhdr where name = 'mode'
    to understand what is the mode value you can user this: IBM - Status Codes Returned by the IDS Onstat Command

    2) Is transparent, Informix work with backup online without stop users activity

    3) already answered on my first post for you... but , CTRL-C / CTRL-V : select sh_narchivers from sysmaster:sysshmvals
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Ceinma for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •