How to "translate" queries

Hi, I would like to "translate" queries into foreign languages without modifying the application. Can this be done?

Imagine you have a table called "shirts" with descriptive information about shirts written in English. One of the columns is called "color". Your application has the following SELECT statement:

SELECT * FROM shirts WHERE color = "red"

You want to translate this table into Spanish for a different audience, and "red" becomes "rojo". I cannot change the application. I would like to have some kind of DB middle layer which takes my query, translates it into Spanish, and retrieve identical results. In this case, the middle layer would take the original query, translate "red" to "rojo" and retrieve:

SELECT * FROM shirts WHERE color = "rojo"

Can this be done in modern databases? Do I need to use ODBC? I'm new to these concepts so any ideas would be appreciated.

Thank you,
    David

I'm going to go out on a limb and guess that you really want to be able to wire the query using multiple languages (one language in the DB, more than one exposed to the user) and have the application translate the user's language to the database language for the purposes of queries. If that is the case, then you can do one of two things...

The best answer is to change the database to make the queries work cleanly using any human language you choose to support, but this means that you have to change the database to support this kind of query. This allows you to have the data in your database stored in natural form, meaning that when the user is using a Chinese or Hindi web page the content is available in correct Chinese or Hindi.