Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Problems with multiple forms

    Hi All,

    I conduct chart reviews on medical histories, which have always been done in paper format... approx 15 pages worth of info per patient.

    Not only do I have to write down all that info, I then have to enter it into a spreadsheet for analysis... very time consuming.

    In an effort to make things more efficient and less prone to transcription error, I recreated the medical history paperwork in MS Access. I created a smaller test version... the first page of the paperwork... and it worked great.

    However, once I tried to create all 15 pages I ran up against limits (i.e. no more than 255 items in a table/form). To get around this limit, I had to make multiple tables and forms, which leads to my problem.

    I have created 10 tables/forms that cover the 15 page history and have made certain to have a common ID field across all tables/forms.

    *** How do I make it so that if I change to a certain record number in one form, all other forms switch to that record number as well?


    Please tell me there is an easy way to do this.

    Cheers
    Dee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580
    Hi DeeQue

    Are you able to post a .zip version of your database?

    Sounds like there may be a few design issues here...
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    ▲ What he said
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7
    Hi there,

    Here is a stripped down version of the db.

    Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

    Cheers
    Dee
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7
    Hi Guys,

    I have tried a different approach.

    I created a new form with only an ID field and a tab control (one tab for each of my original forms).

    All was going well until I hit the control limit... yes I have more than 754... lots of fields and help buttons for new users.

    I thought I had read somewhere that if you use subforms in the tabs, each subform will count as one control and each subform could have 754 controls within. That would take care of my limit problem.

    If that is the case, how do I go about switching forms to subforms?

    Cheers
    Dee

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    A subform is just a form placed on another form with the subform/subreport control on the toolbox.

    When you cut down the version to upload, did you modify the table structure?

    There aren't enough fields in your tables to cause any limit problems?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7
    Hi StarTrekker,

    I had built multiple tables and forms to get around the limits...as you saw in the zip file.

    The problem was if you were to switched to record in one form, none of the other forms switched as well.

    I found a solution last night. I created a tab control with multiple tabs (one tab for each form) and then created a subfrom in each tab... seemed to get around the 754 control limit.

    Seems to be working... will test further today.

    Cheers
    Dee

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Consider that all those fields might better be set up as data in a table or two... I've designed questionnaire type systems before and they invariably hold the questions in a table, rather than storing each question as a separate field. Gets tricky but I think it's a better way to go. Just something for you to think about.

    Glad you got it sorted and yes, I almost always place subforms in tab controls.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •