Unanswered: DISTINCT driving me nuts (because I'm a newbie)

I have a database of memberships to an association. I want to create a query to make a mailing list (print off labels), but I only want to return one record per street address. The problem is I have some whole families registered so in some cases there are 7 different records with the same address.
    The following is what I have been trying to accomplish, but am just becoming increasingly frustrated
    SELECT (DISTINCT Members.HomeAddress as Address), Members.FirstName, Members.LastName, Members.HomeCity, Members.HomePostalCode, Members.HomeStateOrProvince, Members.HomeCountry
    FROM Members
    ORDER BY Members.LastName, Members.FirstName, Address;
    Any help in accomplishing this would really be appreciated.
    Thanks.

Provided Answers: 19
    SQL isn't my long suit, but I've never seen this before

(DISTINCT Members.HomeAddress as Address)

Try losing the parens, using simply

DISTINCT Members.HomeAddress as Address
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

DISTINCT is not a function

it does not apply to a single column -- rather, it applies to all columns in the SELECT clause

if there are 7 rows with the same address, but something different in the other columns, then your DISTINCT query will return all of them

you need to re-think what it is you really want the query to do

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Who is the label going to be addressed to?

As soon as you bring an adressee into the equation, you are going to return all members unless you use restrict with say first person returned at that address (do you have any way of identifying a 'main' / 'senior' person at an address?).

That being said, sounds like you have addresses stored in same table as people?

No need - have an address ID in the members table and address in addresses table.