Unanswered: Stored procedures

I'm using SQL server 2008 (if that matters)

I've never written a stored procedure before and I'm not sure what they are meant for or capable of.

There are a number of SQL statement that I would like to execute in a row in order to transform data into a fairly complicated form.

I decided to start with the first SQL statement and see if I could get it to work in a procedure and I'm getting errors.

The procedure as I currently have it written is below...

Code:
    CREATE PROCEDURE TestProc
    	-- Add the parameters for the stored procedure here
    @InYears varchar(50),
    @SLevels varchar(50),
    @TS varchar(50),
    @ComputerName varchar(30)
    AS
    BEGIN
    	DECLARE @CompLocalVarTable varchar(30)
    	DECLARE @CompVarNames varchar(30)
    	Set @CompLocalVarTable = @ComputerName + 'LocalVarTable'
    	Set @CompVarNames = @ComputerName + 'VarNames'
    	-- SET NOCOUNT ON added to prevent extra result sets from
    	-- interfering with SELECT statements.
    	SET NOCOUNT ON;
    	SELECT Varieties.VarietyID, Series.Year, Varieties.TestName, Samples.LabNumber, Samples.TrialID, Samples.VarID, Samples.[Level], Samples.SampleTypeID, Results.Results, Results.SampleID, Results.DoneYet, Results.ResultDetailID, ResultDetails.TraitCode, Samples.TrialID + Cast(Results.ResultDetailID AS VARCHAR(50)) AS TrialResultDetailID 
        INTO @CompLocalVarTable 
        FROM ((@CompVarNames INNER JOIN (Varieties INNER JOIN Samples ON Varieties.VarietyID = Samples.VarID) ON @CompVarNames.VarID = Varieties.VarietyID) INNER JOIN (ResultDetails INNER JOIN Results ON ResultDetails.ResultDetailID = Results.ResultDetailID) ON Samples.SampIDBarcode = Results.SampleID) INNER JOIN Series ON Samples.SeriesID = Series.SeriesID 
        WHERE @TS AND SampleTypeID=1 AND @SLevels AND @InYears
        -- Insert statements for procedure here	
    END
    GO