wanting to create a memory db

Hey all, I'm Jodaan. I'm not new to db's but I'm definitely no expert. I'm wanting to create a db with a forum to input and search info...I want to create a large db with all my memories. Sounds odd, but I'd like it to be a searchable digital version of my brain Password protected and with different user levels if possible. How would I go about this? Software recommendations? As I said, I'm no expert, but I do learn fast.

Thanks!

Braindump! Cramdump!

Divide brain by area much like a car - left front, right rear,or by function boot, engine, dashboard etc.

Add an intelliGENT (fast learning) algorithm to remember queries and you are done.

Oh dont forget to add cross links, a glossary and a FAQ for the casual browser.

End
    End

annnnd you lost me.

Quote Originally Posted by jodaan
    I want to create a large db with all my memories
    The standard way of doing this is to take thousands of very thin slices of your brain. Each slice needs to be polished and digitally analysed to obtain the "wiring pattern" that links your various memories together. Using this technique you can obtain a second brain that functions at least as well as the original brain does - or at least as well as it does post op.

Another slightly more radical solution suddenly occured to me - simply just get married! My wife can remember everything I've ever done, even the things I didn't think she knew about, and sometimes in embarrassing detail. This is obviously an expensive solution to a straightforward problem.

lol mike. know how that goes. so am i looking at one huge db or many small ones linked by queries? is this something that can be handled simply through MS Access or do I need to go with MySQL or similar?

Definately just the one database, you can have many tables though - one for each entity that you identify

Your requirements are vague to say the least - start thinking about the types of information you're going to want to store first...