Unanswered: Allowing users/visitors to insert records into MySQL

Hey all. I'm mostly a self taught web developer, and I've run into a question I just can't seem to find anything about on google.

I have a ranking system on my php / mysql web site that lets users rank an object 1 - 10.

The ranking inserts a record into a table with the objectID, userID and ranktotal.

My questions about this are:

Should I even do this? Does this create security issues? I have anti-SQL injection code.

Will I have problems if 10+ or 100+ people are ranking (inserting records) at the same time?

My thoughts on these questions lead me to think I'm not doing this the right way... any thoughts? Is this something for XML or other data storage?

Thanks for any help / input!

Provided Answers: 59
    Quote Originally Posted by dstang21
    Hey all. I'm mostly a self taught web developer, and I've run into a question I just can't seem to find anything about on google.

I have a ranking system on my php / mysql web site that lets users rank an object 1 - 10.

The ranking inserts a record into a table with the objectID, userID and ranktotal.

My questions about this are:

Should I even do this? Does this create security issues? I have anti-SQL injection code.

Will I have problems if 10+ or 100+ people are ranking (inserting records) at the same time?

My thoughts on these questions lead me to think I'm not doing this the right way... any thoughts? Is this something for XML or other data storage?

Thanks for any help / input!