Unanswered: Distinct or Top value in only one column

Hi,

I tried searching the forum for a good answer and had difficulty with the answer. Perhaps someone could help as I'm sure its an easy answer (I think it involves nested selects and creative use of IN and Distinct) but I can not think how to phrase the query.

My sample database is like follows:

Pkid | cust_id | date_ordered
    1 100 28 May 09
    2 100 1 Jun 09
    3 108 29 May 09
    4 108 3 Jun 09
    5 108 4 Jun 09

What I would like to search for would be the first date ordered for each cust_id, returning the following values:

pkid cust_id date_ordered
    1 100 28 May 09
    3 108 29 May 09

I've tried using top() which, since I'm a novice, I've incorrectly applied and only get one value. I then tried nesting it within a query and my computer just displays a frowny-face and tells me I need help.

Any advice, either on how to do this or perhaps a good explanation on how to approach these questions so that I can learn the actual process?

Thank you all for your help.
    Chris

Provided Answers: 59
    use a group by clause

eg
    select top pkid,custid,dateordered from mytable
    group by pkid,dateordered
    order by dateordered desc
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Mark, WTF is that?

OP - What if your data was like this? What would the result be then? (it makes a difference, honest).Change in red

1 100 28 May 09
    2 100 1 Jun 09
    3 108 29 May 09
    4 108 3 Jun 09
    5 108 4 Jun 09
    6 108 1 Jan 09
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

If there were another block like the one in red, the result should yield the following:

PKID cust_id date_ordered
    1 100 28 May 09
    6 108 1 Jan 09

I'm wishing to return the unique pkid, the cust_id and the date_ordered of the record that chronologically has the earliest date form the date_ordered column.