Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    93

    Unanswered: show records from value based on diffrnt form

    hello friends

    i have 2 tables
    table1 : phone number
    table1: address

    table2hone number
    table2: zip

    and 2 forms called form1 and form2

    form2 have textbox which displays the field from table2 called phnenumber

    when i click on button on form2 then it should pull up information of that phone number from form1

    and if phne number isnt there then it shuld display me the form1 with the fields to enter the information
    like
    field1hone number
    field2:adresss
    update the table1

    thanks
    sam
    Last edited by sam_01; 06-05-09 at 16:26.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580
    What is going on here? Are you trying to copy data from one table to the other? If so you could achieve this more efficiently with a query.

    However, if you have two duplicate fields in different tables, then this hints at a flaw in your database design.
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    93
    bth are 2 diffrnt tables.
    for example the customer comes in the store .. he has a customer ID

    i will type his ID in the text box of a temporary table and looking up in the main table whether he is the customer of us and if he is the customer then his information shows up frm the main table
    and if he isnt the customer then we try to register him

    hopefully you wil understnd better now so as wt i am looking for

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580
    "i will type his ID in the text box of a temporary table"

    No need for this table - you can just use an unbound form.
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580
    Can you post a zip of your database?
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    93
    information into the temporrary table comes thru other application and i cant bound it to the main table


    so i need bth the tables .. if possible i wil try to zip it

    i am jst trying to get something like lookup functiion or like []*


    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •