Index ID Attribute vs. Primary Keys

Hi,

I am very new to database and data modeling so bare with me. The realm of my question is about database design and ERD for the sake of the lingo. I have a set of identical attributes persisting in multiple entities/objects. For instance,

University (country, state, city, name, etc.)
    Company (country, state, city, name, description, etc.)
    Institution (country, state, city, name, field, etc.)

As it appears, (country, state, city) are repeated in each of these entities (i.e. University, Company, etc.), therefore, for some, there would be a duplicate in the tables (i.e. multiple companies, universities, etc. may be located in the same location). So I created a new entity, Location, which encapsulates these attributes (country, state, city).

Location, for obvious reason, has (country, city) as the primary keys -- I could also augment state to the PK list but it would be irrelevant to my question. Now, in order to use each of Location instances in other child tables (i.e. University, Company, etc.), either I have to reference country-city-(and/or state), which defeats the whole purpose of avoiding spurious identical set of data in multiple tables/entities (as a matter of fact, in this case, I just managed to create an extra table in addition to the duplicates that had gone to any other table requiring to have a (country, state, city) attributes), or I could create an "id" for each of the Location's to uniquely identify the set -- we call it "locationid".

Obviously locationid can uniquely specifies each instance but we also have to have (country, city) as primary keys because otherwise, we can insert same set of (country, city) but with different locationid number. For example, if (country, city) are not PK, we can have:

locationid=0 , country=US , city=New York
    locationid=1 , country=FR , city=Paris
    locationid=2 , country=RU , city=Moscow
    locationid=3 , country=FR , city=Paris