Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99

    Unanswered: enterprise manager grid control 10g

    Hello,
    is there anybody used before this ? Can I run this on vista? I checked oracle website I didnot see x64 windows supporting grid control

    I think there isnot grid control 11g version?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Talking Nope.

    In short: NO and NO.
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    can I run grid control 10g(32bit) on 64bit windows server?
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    In short: NO and NO.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Thumbs down WinDoze is ...{4 letter expletive}...

    Certified only for:
    Code:
    Platform           OS versions
    ------------     ---------------------------------------------------
    Windows x86    Win2k SP4; Win Server 2003 (SP2, R2);Windows Vista;
                         Windows 2008
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    can you give link of this information ? I downloaded files and I was going to install 10 grid control indeed.

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    Certified only for:
    Code:
    Platform           OS versions
    ------------     ---------------------------------------------------
    Windows x86    Win2k SP4; Win Server 2003 (SP2, R2);Windows Vista;
                         Windows 2008

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Metalink

    Metalink Doc.Id 412431.1
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Oh I donot have account on metalink anyway thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    Metalink Doc.Id 412431.1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    I think there isnot grid control 11g version?
    there isn't, but the 10g version will work for 11g databases.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    I downloaded 10 grid control.in the readme file it says

    Installing On Windows 2008/Vista
    The following sections discuss installing Enterprise Manager 10g Grid Control on Windows 2008/Vista.

    Installing Enterprise Manager 10g Grid Control Using A New Database On Windows 2008/Vista
    Enterprise Manager 10g Grid Control will not support the New Database install option on Windows 2008/Vista as the Database 10.1.0.4 (which is the default Database for Grid Control) is not supported for Windows 2008/Vista.

    so which db version should I install on vista? it seems 10grid control doesnot install default db with itself.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Thumbs down No WinDoze

    Quote Originally Posted by sunsail
    I downloaded 10 grid control.in the readme file it says
    ...Enterprise Manager 10g Grid Control will not support the New Database install option on Windows 2008/Vista...
    Why do you insist on trying to install on an unsupported platform.
    Besides, Vista is soon to be replaced by version 7.

    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    I m not searching adventure,vista is the all I have,I donot have other resource for this,

    It has to be supporting ,I m trying to find out which version grid control supports on vista.

    Strange part is grid control 10g supports vista but database it has doesnot support.I refer to its readme file.

    Best Regards

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Thumbs down Hasta la VISTA baby!

    Oracle® Enterprise Manager Grid Control Quick Installation Guide for Windows (32-bit) 10g Release 2 (10.2)



    PS: Yes you can run some Oracle 32 bit software on 64 bit.
    .
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    99
    Hello
    Thanks for the link.it seems so simple,all I need to is to click setup.exe ?

    I downloaded these files,thesel look like patches,which version should I download?

    Oracle Enterprise Manager 10g Grid Control Release 5 (10.2.0.5) for Microsoft Windows (32-bit) - (README)
    gc_10205_part1of2.zip
    gc_10205_part2of2.zip

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA
    Oracle® Enterprise Manager Grid Control Quick Installation Guide for Windows (32-bit) 10g Release 2 (10.2)



    PS: Yes you can run some Oracle 32 bit software on 64 bit.
    .

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Install full + 10.2.0.5 patches

    Download and install first the complete files, then apply the patches you downloaded.
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •