Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Report Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95

    Unanswered: Report Question

    I have a table with companies and various other pieces of information that go along with the company. There are repeats of companies (which is how the information should be). I need the user to be able to input the company name and run a report with only that company name that the user inputs.

    How do I go about doing this? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    I tried to put a command button my my form (frmB), that runs a report (ReportB), off of a query (queryB) that is off of the selection of my combobox (combo0).

    The criteria for company was [Forms]![frmB]![combo0]

    However, this did not work and the report was always blank.

    Could anybody point me in the right direction?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    ...

    the logic looks correct (i have several databases that run off the value of a combo box). The problem may lie in the query.
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    I hid the text box and put in a command button to run the report. Works like a charm, I wonder why it didn't work with the combobox value

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    95
    I don't know why but I made a text box and set the source to the combobox and ran the query criteria as the text box value and it worked.

    For some reason it did not work for the combobox.

    Interesting, eh?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    ...

    that is very strange.
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    How many columns were in the combo box and which was the bound one? It's not so strange when you consider that a combobox can have loads of columns and any one of them can be what is selected.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •