Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    28

    Unanswered: Linked Tables Question

    I have tried moving my back end DB to another server and using the linked tables manager relink the tables. But not all the data is pulled into the forms/reports/etc. It's there, I can see it in the back end database. But using the properties of the form (or whatever) the fields stop showing up.

    For example; everything before customers_deliverynumber shows, everything afterward does not. Yet it can clearly be seen in the back end database.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Make sure the links are correct for all the tables. Perhaps one or more tables are still linked to the old source?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    28
    What gets me is that I totally delete the linked tables.

    Then do a file>import>get external data>linked tables and relink to the same tables but only a certain amount of the data from the tables populate to the form(s).

    Is there some code I should check or process to run to re-establish the connection? I've tried compact and repair but it didn't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Did you try compact and repair on the source database or the one that seems to not get the data?

    Is the data visible to the linked table or only in the source database?

    Interesting problem!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    28
    Compacted and repaired both.

    The data is visible on the back end DB but *not* via any of the links.

    What gets me is that it seems to be stopping the link after a certain amount of table fields are populated.

    In thinking it may be a network error I put the back end on the same pc as the front end, linked and it still occurs.

    When I put the back end back on the "original" server it was on all is ok.

    ?!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Ok, so instead of using the Linked Table Manager, have you tried deleting all the table links manually and then re-creating the link?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •