Unanswered: Savinig entries from form to table

Hello all. I am not sure what I am doing wrong, but in my attached example db, I am unable to save the data selections and entries from the 'MainMenu' form to the 'Main' table. I am new to databases and have tried various control sources with no success.

Two things I noticed are that although field3 and field4 do get stored in the 'Main' table, the new data overwrites the old data. None of the other fields gets saved.

Additionally, it looks like a subform was automatically created within the first record of the Main table, but I am not sure what it is for or how to populate it. If it is to track all data that is related to a certain field, I want it to track by the 'Unit' field since it is the Unit that orders and receives the products.

I just don't have enough experience to logically look for possible causes of the issue. Can some of you database gurus please look at my example and explain what I need to do to fix it.

Thanks in advance,
    Andrew
    Attached Files Attached Files

Provided Answers: 6
    When you look at the form in design view, only field3 and field4 are bound to the table. All the other textboxes say "Unbound", which means they are not connected to the table. It sounds like you want to set the control sources of those to the appropriate fields in the table.

When the form opens, it is displaying the first record in the table, so when you enter data and click on your save button, all you're doing is modifying that record. To enter a new record, you'd need to click on the >* navigation button. You could also set the data entry property of the form to yes, which would cause it to open to a new record.

I suspect this is just for testing, but want to mention that having "Product1", "Product2" is not a good design. Search on normalization, starting here:

Fundamentals of Relational Database Design -- r937.com

FAQ: What is normalization? - MDBMakers.com
    Paul