Unanswered: error #53, connectiontimeout takes 7 minutes to return error

Hi,

First post on your forum. My name is Tanner and i'm a VB developer from North Carolina, USA. I have encountered an issue which I am unable to find an answer so I figured I would ask your community here in the hopes that someone can clarify what I don't understand.

So my question is, how do I configure my remote sql server box to send back an error #53 (not available error) within 2 seconds when the machine is not on the network?

Project notes and troubleshooting steps taken:

I have been working on a project at work which contains a common data access class for all the forms to use in that project. The program has many sql calls to make, and all of them are done on a remote sql box (sql 2005 version). I wanted to consider many different testing scenarios including "what happens if the network isn't available?" so I unplugged the sql box from the network and tried a few calls to see what would happen. My guesses were that my connection to the sql machine would time out and I would catch a sql exception returned to my program with error #53 attached.

My guesses were partly correct, this is the error I expected, but it takes my application 7 minutes to time out and throw this error back to me. After observing this I wondered how Sql Server Management Studio would behave in a similar situation. It also takes about 7 minutes to bring me back the error that tells me the remote machine is not available. a semi important note: my boss's development machine takes more than a minute to do the same task, but not nearly as long as my machine takes.